From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to save to file the current temperature data obtained from Temperature controller in labview

Hi everyone,

Hoping someone can help with this since I am very new to labview:

I am using a Vi for controlling temperature using "TEMPTRONIC" instrument. This Vi was created by a former research-mate. However, right now I need to be able to save the current temperature readings to a file (.txt, etc).

I have attached the Vi for reference. The program works perfectly for ramping up the temperature on the device, but i see that there is "current temp" indicator , but it's not recording or showing any values.

Thanks in advance for your help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,191 Views)

What controller are you using?  Generally, a "Set" command will not initiate a response from an instrument.  You would have to request the read value.  We need more information (ie the instrument you are communicating with) before we can help any more.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,099 Views)

Hello, thanks for your response. the controller is Temptronic 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,087 Views)

Hi mavs,

@mavs123 wrote:

the controller is Temptronic 

So you read its manual to learn about the commands and responses of that device?

@mavs123 wrote:

However, right now I need to be able to save the current temperature readings to a file (.txt, etc).

Then you need to implement some file handling in this VI to save your data to a file!