From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to save data in while loop to array

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone, I'm new to LabVIEW. I'm trying to read data using DAQmx and then calculate the center of gravity of each series of data. I read 20 number each time and then do the calculation work. Now I want to output the result to an array to check the stability, but I get into trouble in how to output the results in the while loop. 

Any feedback would be helpful. Thanks.

image.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(4,666 Views)

1. No need for a Timed While Loop.  Just change it to a regular While loop and the acquisition will set your loop rate.

2. No need to wire up the N terminal on the FOR loop.  The Autoindexing tunnel will tell the FOR loop how many times to iterate.

3. Your first value in the read array is multiplied with 0, so it is not actually being counted in your calculation.  Is that desired?

4. Since you are using Continuous Sampling, do NOT wire up the Samples Per Channel on the DAQmx Timing VI.  You are just limiting your buffer and increasing the chance of getting an overflow error by wiring it up.

5. There are a few options for building up an array.  Do you want to compare everything while the acquisition is still happening?  Post process?  Do you want to compare every loop iteration's data?  Or just the last X iterations?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 18
(4,630 Views)

Thanks for your advice.

Reply to Q3: Yes it is desired.