LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to quickly determine what VI's are not called by another VI in my project?

I am new to NXG and am learning. I appreciate all the help the community has offered.

In the course of developing my first app I created a lot of VI's that were called by other VI's. I would do something with a VI and then later determine that it was no longer needed. Now that my app is mostly finished a lot of these VI's are not needed - orphaned if you will.

Is there a quick way to determine what VI's are needed by my main app -or- more helpful - what VI's are no longer needed by my main app so I can delete the unneeded VI's.

This question also pertains to enums and gtypes.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,200 Views)

Hi flycast,

in classic LabVIEW you can use the VI Hierarchy window.

Or you can right-click items in the project and select "Find callers".

Or you can create a source distribution from your main VI, which includes its hierarchy…

(There might be problems finding VIs called dynamically.)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(1,196 Views)

Hmmm... Hierarchy is nice.

There does not seem to be a "Find callers" in NXG when I RBC which is exactly what I would be looking for.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(1,182 Views)

@GerdW wrote:

in classic LabVIEW you can use the VI Hierarchy window.

Or you can right-click items in the project and select "Find callers".

Or you can create a source distribution from your main VI, which includes its hierarchy…

(There might be problems finding VIs called dynamically.)

Don't forget:

• Right-click on project (top item in items view)...find items with no callers. (will also list the toplevel VI and stuff called by reference, so be careful).