LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to program a solenoid in Labview?

Hello,

I am an engineering student trying to accomplish a design project.  I would like to use Labview to turn a solenoid on and off.  I'm not sure how to implement this.  What microcontroller/processor do I need to make this happen?  Is there a recommended solenoid that would make implementation easier?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,401 Views)

There's not much in the way of inexpensive hardware available that will run LabVIEW.

I keep hoping that the Raspberry Pi will one day manage it but I don't think it's there yet.

You can look at NI's hardware offerings for embedded controllers with I/O like the cRIO but they are a bit outside the range of what most students are willing to spend.

Go to whomever gave you this assignment and ask them what hardware is already available from them for you to execute this assignment.

If the cRIO route is too expensive, besides a processor that run LabVIEW like a PC or MAC, you need it to also have some I/O that can be used with your solenoid. I do know that LabVIEW can be used to control the I/O bits of a parallel printer port on a PC, but those are rare now days. So you may need to buy something that will give you a switchable output and hopefully what you buy will be rated to control your solenoid (voltage, current and the ability to handle the di/dt voltage spike that you will get when the thing is switched off). If what you have or what you buy is not rated for the solenoid, then an interface circuit will be required so you do not damage your output.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,376 Views)