LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to plot the intensity of a diffraction pattern through a circular aperture

I'm new to LabVIEW and I was advised to run a tutorial exercise writen for other University students to familiarise myself with the program. Unfortunately, I've fallen at the final hurdle and I have no idea what I'm doing wrong

The task is to calculate and display the far-field diffraction pattern of a circular aperture, which is essentially the same as the 2D Fourier transform of a sine wave

I have a diffraction pattern on my intensity graph but it's not circular, and I've tried various things to make it circular but to no avial. I think my problem is that I'm not properly converting the aperture size to a circular shape, does anyone have any idea how I could do this?

Incase it helps, here is the link to the tutorial I've been using:

The tutorial can be found listed under "Teaching Material" on the right hand side, and is simply called "LabVIEW". Clicking the link opens the PDF with the tutorial in it, and my problem begins on Pg 58. I'm also unsure of how to impliment the suggestions found on Pg 59

Thanks in advance

Ben
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,968 Views)

Hi Ben,

Please post your code so we can take a look.

Did you pay attention to the note about auto-scaling off and manually setting the ranges?

Just trying to help (another Ben studying physics),

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,937 Views)
Hi Ben (this could potentially get confusing!),