LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to plot real time vs. data using multiplier

Hi,

I am a beginner of Labview programming. I am trying to get signal from monochromator and plot it with real time. Since the signal is very noise, I planed to average it for every 3000 data points using mean function and set number of samples as 3000 in DAQmx Read. Then I sent the averaged signal to both waveform chart and write to file. I used the property node to control the maximum value of X-axis and tried to make it as real time by using the x-axis multiplier. My question is that,  how is the value I set for the X-axis maximum corresponding to the X-axis range appeared on the chart? Is the unit of the value which I set in second? I set multiplier around 2.4 which gave me about the right real time, however my sampling rate should be much faster than that. How can I know my actual sampling rate? Can anyone have the answer for this?

Vi is attached.

Thanks,

--

Weiye

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,964 Views)

Weiye,

How many samples per second are you pulling? What is happening is that you are pulling off batches of sequential samples, averaging them, and returning a single number to the chart. Is this what you are trying to do?

Regards from Austin,

Ben J.
National Instruments
Applications Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,932 Views)

Ben,

Thank you for your reply. Yes, that's what I want. The A/D board I am using is SCB-68, E-series. The board is 12 bit. I don't know which model is it in E-series. I supposed that it is using the fastest sampling rate. If I set the number of samples as 3000 in DAQmx Read function, does it average these 3000 samples into one data point? I have ~20 data points/second after averaging using 3000. If so, sampling rate is 3000*20=6E4 sample/sec.

Thanks,

--

Weiye

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(2,921 Views)

Weiye,

Try throwing a DAQmx Timing VI in there so you can ensure your sampling speed.