LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to pass data from LabVIEW using ActiveX

Hey guys,

I have some questions regarding the use of ActiveX controls and passing information from LabVIEW to another program.  In my case, I have to pass parameters generated in LabVIEW to another software called RPvdsEx.  It is a proprietary software from Tucker Davis Technoligies to control their DSPs and various other hardware devices.  I'm fairly new to LabVIEW so I'm lost when it comes to actually knowing how to pass something from LabVIEW to another software.  I know that the TDT system uses ActiveX to communicate and that I need to use that for LabVIEW.  The thing I am confused about is what nodes to use to pass this information from LabVIEW.  Let's just say I wanted to pass a simple parameter like a number from LabVIEW to another software using ActiveX.  Could somebody give me some sort of clue as the steps I would take to pass that information?  I have been reading the help section of the ActiveX controls, but I am still confused as to what controls to use (property node, invoke node, etc).  Any help on the matter would be great.  Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,581 Views)

Are you going to be creating an exe or calling the LabVIEW environment? I believe the default for LabVIEW is to have the ActiveX Server enabled. When you build an exe, this is an option you must select. Here is an example where the calling program is C# .NET. I'm confused as to what ActiveX controls you are talking about. You do not use any ActiveX controls in the LabVIEW application. Your other program will be calling LabVIEW properties and methods such as run, get control value, set control value, etc.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,552 Views)

Hey tbergen1,