From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make that multiple boolean switches can impact on the run of a loop, via Arduino UNO?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello! I'm a newbie in the LabView environment and I'm not familiarized to the functions the program offers. I'm making a simple Simon Says game using Arduino Uno through LINX. I've got stucked in the phase where it's the user's turn to repeat the shown sequence. Basically, the push buttons interact via "true" or "false" and I need the 4 "for" loops in order the 4 buttons to be detected in a certain lapse of time (I'm using a 100 ms duration of the loops so that the corresponding leds are lighted on briefly when pressed the push buttons), but I'm not sure if I'm handling properly the boolean results out of those "for" loops. Plus, I don't know how to stop the loop and exit it through multiple boolean conditions, if I connect them directly it would say that the "wired tunnel is undirected". 

I've also tried to handle the boolean responses with an "event" loop, but it seems that the event are only triggered if they're made through the "Front Panel" and they're not detected if using the Arduino Uno.

I'm attaching my VI, thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,596 Views)

Yes, event are primarily for user interactions on the front panel, so just poll the booleans and deal with them. No event structure needed.

However, you have way too many stacked loops. I think all you really need is a single while loop and some state machine architecture. try it.

Message 2 of 6
(3,593 Views)

What do you mean by polling the booleans? I'm not sure how to take the boolean value out of the "for" loops correctly.