cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make program for RS-232

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all.

I am a beginner to the Labview, and I have to build a program that can send commands via RS-232.

The RS-232 is connected to the computer and INSEK PSP-603.

I've been trying to use "Basic write and read.vi" that is already installed in Labview as an example.

But I do not know how to use it especially the meanings of "data bits" and "bytes read".

If anyone can explain it or can provide a vi, I will appreciate it.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 37
(7,873 Views)

Hi mogusa,

i think there are all information in the Basic Write and Read.vi. You should also read the vi description.

The data to send as to be inserted into the "string to write" field. It should be a command for your "INSTEK PSP-603", you should find it in the device description, there should also be an information about how to connect it.

Mike

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 37
(7,863 Views)

Thank you for the quick reply, Mike.

Yes, for the "string to write" field, I put the commands that are specified on the device description.

But the vi got no response from the device and gave me error saying "time out".

Is it because I specify to read more bytes than the number of bytes actually read?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 37
(7,857 Views)

Hi mogusa,

if you change nothing in the example, then you wait the "delay before read" time. You only read the number of available bytes. Did you enter the correct termination character?

Mike

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 37
(7,854 Views)

Hi mogusa.

I was a begginer, and I didn't found a tutorial for programm serial, because it doesn't exist.

You have to order manual for your hardware, to communicate with it. In this document you have to found the protocol, I mean those telegrams that you have to transmit and receive.

You find exemples in that document too.