From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to find where local variable is defined?

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a beginner trying to understand a complex set of existing LabVIEW code, which includes local variables. I know how to use Find to search the block diagram for instances of a local variable such as SomeNumber. However I would like to see where the local variable is defined, like SomeNumber=7. How can I search for this?  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(1,829 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author colorimeter

I'm going to start with the standard admonition that local variables should almost never be used. There are some uses for them, but "defining" a value is almost always incorrect.

Now, to your question: You can right click on the control or indicator on either the front panel or the block diagram and select "Find -> Local Variables"

BowenM_0-1617998350363.png

From there, it will bring up a dialog box showing you all of the local variables, and whether or not they read or write.  You can then double click or slick and select "Go To" and it will highlight that local variable on your block diagram.

BowenM_0-1617998504911.png

In your case, you're going to be looking for instances of "Write".

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(1,817 Views)

Or you can right click the local variable and click Find -> Control (or Terminal) to find the front panel control that defines the local variable. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(1,802 Views)

Very helpful for me in understanding what the existing code is doing. Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(1,799 Views)