LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create Pen-up and Pen-down option in X-Y graph ?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I would like to create a basic digital version of XY plotter. I sorted out everything (scales, offsets, ranges, printing) except for Pen-up and Pen-down option. This application will be use to take multiple plots one after another. I need to print them on the same sheet. Basically when I run the test I plot one "line", then I take pen up, move it (with offset), put the pen down and draw another "line". Up to probably 6-8 "lines". My problem is that when I put the pen up and then down it connects old "line" withe the one that I just started to draw. (I assume that use of shift registers and a buffer needs to be involved??)

I'm new to Labview and I would appreciate any help.

Thx.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,169 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author franerr

Insert one dummy point containing NaN as value between traces.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,150 Views)

I can think of two solutions right off the top of my head.

1) Set each independent X-Y "line" to be it's own plot.

Each "Pen Up/Pen Down" pair would create new index in a multiplot X-Y graph

2) Add an "NaN" value between each segment of the line in which you want to see a Pen Up and Pen Down operation

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,134 Views)
Hey Gyus ! Thanks for help. It worked. Attached is the print screen of practise vi which I created to see if I could do it. Is there a way to do it better?
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(4,107 Views)
Sorry! No attachement before. Here is the link: http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/7365/plottervi.jpg
Message 5 of 11
(4,100 Views)

The NAN option creates a problem if you want to read the data from the graph later on.

Consider ending one plot and starting another when you want to do PEN UP or PEN DOWN.

Set the color to TRANSPARENT if the pen is up and something visible if the pen goes down.

Steve Bird