LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to check if we have selected duplicated value from random generator?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all, I'm new in LabVIEW and I got a task on randomly select one element from the 2D array.

The VI should:

1) Open a file to get a 2D array.

2) Randomly select one element from the 2D array.

3) The process is repeat but must not select the same element previously selected.

4) Repeat process (3) for M/2 times, where M is total number of element in the 2D array.

The process flow:
1) Read a spreadheet file.
2) Check number of array element as M.
3) Calculate looping number as M/2.
4) Generate random row index and column index as a pair of coordinate.
5) Keep a history record of the row and column index pair.
6) Check if this current index pair is previously generated.
If yes, discard and regenerate.
If no, index the element from the 2D array.
7) Loop for M/2 times.
😎 Record the values of all selected elements as a new 1D array, write it into a spreadsheet file with new name.

My problem start when I have to checked if the element is selected or not. I created case structures to check the element but I don't know if it is relevant or functioning cause the program cannot run. I also attached the file. Any kind of help is really appreciated. Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,943 Views)

There is a lot of code there, and I think a lot more than you actually need.  I'm not going to dig into it.

A couple of quick tips.

1.  Index Array is resizable.  Drag down the bottom border.  You'll get indices 0 and 1 by default without wiring up constants.

2.  If you split a wire and it is used 3 places inside a For Loop.  Put the splits inside the For Loop.  No need to create 3 tunnels on the For Loop when they all reference the same value when 1 tunnel will do.