LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to build an array within a master/slave relationship?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello NI Community,

I am having trouble building an array within a master/slave relationship. I want two arrays to be built for a set amount of iterations once the "Pressurization" button is pressed. (This data acqusition would only happen once per program run). I'm new to Labview so I apologize in advance for my messy layout.

I want the slave program of creating the two arrays and analyzing the pressurization slope to happen concurrently with the master program, and the master program to continue to aquire the same pressure data.

Is the master slave relationship even necessary here? How do I pass a variable (pressure reading from main once per loop without getting stuck in a nested loop situation?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,443 Views)

I beleive a Producer/Consumer pattern would do this easily. You acquire data in your producer loop, and you can do data analysis/data logging in your consumer loop. You have to use a Queue for lossless data transmission.

edit: Some more advices:

1. Do not use Express VIs for DAQ. Learn how to program DAQmx properly using the low level VIs. Have a look at the many examples.
  2. Your VI is way overcomplicated. Why do you use Flat Sequence Structure? There is no purpose of it here... Also, same for the "Wait until next ms multiple", you connected a 1 msec value to it, it will not do any difference in this case. Maybe you wanted to time your top loop to iterate at 1 second? Then connect 1000 msec to this function in the top loop. The lower loop does not need timing, since it will execute only when the top loop send a Notification/Queue element...
  3. I recommend you to take some of the free training available online. Have a look at the DAQmx and Producer/Consumer examples. If something is problematic, attach your VI here and we try to help. Good luck!

Edit2: