From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to avoid race conditions??

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, ive been doing Labview for 10 years now. And its the first time ive come across or its effected my code. I have a lot of code that executes at the same time. And done for years, any good practice to avoid this ever happening again??

Stu

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(7,458 Views)

Make sure operations that are dependant on each other are wired/sequenced so they're forced to execute in order. It's often easiest to control through error wires.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
Message 2 of 17
(7,449 Views)

Avoid variables (at all costs?!). Lock critical sections.

How to do this:

Implement an appropriate architecture.

hope this helps,

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
Message 3 of 17
(7,440 Views)
You can use the semaphore VIs under the synronisation pallete to protect specific sections of code. Or, if you are using a queued/statemachine architecture you normally handle race conditions through a good design
David
www.controlsoftwaresolutions.com
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 17
(7,432 Views)

Hi Stu!

Maybe you could post a picture of your diagram. Thus, it would be easier for us to help you.

Best regards

Leo

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 17
(7,412 Views)