LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you use the windows User32.dll Library functions to read variables from other applications that are running

I am trying to read a text box from a programme running at the same time as my Labview application using calls to the Windows
User32.dll. I believe I need to find the window handle for the 'form' containing this text string and use this together with
various other defined input variables to access the sting.

I have no experience of using this 'Call Library Function Node', but have an understanding of the 'C' programming language. Does anyone have
example Labview code showing how this might be done.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(15,410 Views)
If you're trying to access information that's being displayed in the window of another application and that application has no ActiveX interface, then yes, Windows calls can be used. There's a very good example on calling DLLs that ship with LabVIEW. Open the Example Finder (Help->Find Examples) and switch to the Search tab. Enter "Call" in the search box and open the VI "Call DLL". Run the VI, select any of the examples, and click the "Open Example VI..." button. That shows you how to call a DLL.

Now, given that you have no experience in calling DLLs, have only an "understanding" of C (which to me means you have never written something like a DLL), and don't seem to know that much about what Windows functions you may need, you're going to find this route pretty difficult, especially since you have to deal with Windows API calls, which are not always that easy to do from LabVIEW.