LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I implement Huffman encoding trees?

Solved!
Go to solution

Greetings, 

This is my first time to the forum, I was hoping if anyone could help me out in generating 'Huffman Trees', I have already created a table that does the probability check for variable length coding, once the probabilities are added.

ThanksHuffman Table.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(5,507 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author co2junkie_

@co2junkie_ wrote:

Greetings, 

This is my first time to the forum, I was hoping if anyone could help me out in generating 'Huffman Trees', I have already created a table that does the probability check for variable length coding, once the probabilities are added.

Thanks

Hey co2junkie_,

I've managed to produce a VI that can generate a string which defines the huffman tree from a given Frequency and Value 2D array, and I've fully documented the code to show the thought process and tools used in its production. This VI generates a string which is encoded to represent the full tree span, hopefully you'll be able to infer the Huffman Code required for a particular value from this string. I've never used a Huffman Tree before so I couldn't work out what sort of algorithm is required for it's implementation from the Front Panel you provided, so I used this website for reference; I hope this still suits your purpose even when created following this format. However if it doesn't suit your specification, I still firmly believe it will serve as a good guideline towards producing data which matches your specification. I've made sure that you can use double values as Frequency/Value input data similar to how you have usedin your example's arrays. If you wish to use this in a larger VI, you can just drag the icon from the connector pane located in the top right of the Front Panel/Block Diagram into your other block diagram.

Huffman Tree.png