LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How are High-throughput Math Functions in Labview FPGA allowed in SCTL?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, 

I am new to FPGA, and as per my understanding the High-throughput Math functions on Labview FPGA use CORDIC algorithm which is iterative. Whereas the code inside SCTL needs to be executed in 1 tick of the clock. Can anyone explain how is CORDIC implemented in SCTL since it is iterative and each iteration depends on the result from previous iteration?

I am guessing it implements pipeline and handshaking which would increase latency but accepts inputs at high throughput. I am not sure about this though.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(1,823 Views)

You guess right. By separating the algorithme into stages that are then pipelined through internal Flip-Flop registers, one can make sure each iteration of the function is performed within a clearly defined time that is known at design time, so that the SCTL requirement can be verified. The result is that you need to run the loop multiple times in order to get the result from an input applied at iteration N, before it is output at iteration N + n, with n being the pipeline length.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
Message 2 of 14
(1,790 Views)

I noticed that on the configuration page of the function it say that the function is not pipelined.

linu95k_1-1619594734837.png

So I don't think my guess is correct.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(1,781 Views)

Well, it still is delayed, although they seem to not call that pipelined. You see the Throughput control that specifies 16 cycles per sample. This means you have to iterate 16 times before the correct result appears at the output. And yes you need to use the handshake controls too.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(1,776 Views)