LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How VISA Read read the data?

I'm a newbie of Labview.I have try the example of basic serial port and advanced serial port, and write my own serial ports.There is one question I would like to know is about the VISA Read,actually how does this VISA Read read the data?There is one input (byte count) and one output (return count), is that means VISA Read is not read the exact bytes based on the user configure (for the case of there is no timeout or error data)?for example if the input is 20bytes,the output may not 20bytes (I have done one on my own test and experience this result sometimes).Besides,Is this VISA actually is reading the buffer from the windows OS instead of the hardware?Actually I'm quite confusing on set the timing inside the while loop.Currently, the baudrate of the hardware is 9600bps, each time send 1 frame, 1 frame contains 20bytes, frame to frame time interval is 2ms.Hope anyone can give me some guidelines or explantion on how VISA Read read the data.I'm using Labview 8.6.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(11,267 Views)

There is one question I would like to know is about the VISA Read,actually how does this VISA Read read the data?There is one input (byte count) and one output (return count), is that means VISA Read is not read the exact bytes based on the user configure (for the case of there is no timeout or error data)?for example if the input is 20bytes,the output may not 20bytes (I have done one on my own test and experience this result sometimes).Besides,Is this VISA actually is reading the buffer from the windows OS instead of the hardware?Actually I'm quite confusing on set the timing inside the while loop.

You may find the better answer from some one else but here is my answer from labVIEW help for your question about return count.