LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How To Build exe for Previous Versions

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to LabView and still struggilng a little with all the files associated with a project, so I'm sure this is a simple question.

I'm running LabView v10 for development, but wish to create an exe that can run on a v8.5 runtime version. I've seen the threads that suggest that this is as simple as 'Save For Previous Version'... but for some reason I cannot seem to make this work. I have tried saving the vi for 8.5, then choosing to build the exe, but upon being prompted to create an associated project, I'm told there are unsaved changes - that the subvi's have been converted to version 10. I've tried declining the changes and opting to use those in memory, but this also doesn't work; the built exe then gives me a runtime error, complaining it does not have LV Runtime 10.

I've tried saving the project with 'Save for Previous Version', then building. Again, this doesn't work - even though when i open, then immediately close either the project or it's contained vi's, I'm told there are unsaved changes where it has been converted to LV10 - implying the saved files were indeed saved in LV8.5 format.

I seem to be going round in circles here. Would someone mind laying out the necessary steps to build an exe that can run on a previous runtime environment?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 29
(10,831 Views)
Its not possible to build an exe for an earlier version.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 29
(10,820 Views)

Dennis Knutson wrote:
Its not possible to build an exe for an earlier version.

But you can have sevral Run Time Engines installed without any problem. This may solve the problem for the OP

Besides which, my opinion is that Express VIs Carthage must be destroyed deleted
(Sorry no Labview "brag list" so far)
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 29
(10,818 Views)