From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphing arrays

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey there Labview masters, a beginner here looking some guidance.  I have extracted data (strings) from a csv in the form of an array and now I want to graph them in a bar graph by quantity.  I have roughly 6000 countries in the column I want to graph, so if Peru is the most common country in the column, the bar graph will indicate that with the largest bar, the least common country will have the lowest, etc.  I've scoured youtube and havent come up with a solution yet. 

Bonus Round: As you can see from the fatalities column I want to extract, even though the correct column is chosen, all the data is messed up, grabbing elements from other columns.  Why is this? 

Thanks!

some pics if you dont want to download

BD.PNGFP.PNGexce.PNG

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,934 Views)

Your fatalities column is not right because the "trigger" column has more than one value in some rows "nearest_places" column has a comma in the city name. So basically in those cases, all values get shifted to the right. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
Message 2 of 10
(3,918 Views)

Hmm I understand what you are saying, but looking through the data for "trigger" I don't see any elements that have more than one value, no commas.  Am I blind?

EDIT: Just saw your edit.  Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,912 Views)

Right csv format view like this:

1.23, 4.56, "some,string"

1.23, some string, 4.56

P.S. Excel make and import incorrect csv file.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(3,902 Views)