From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting Started With Newport ESP300

Hello, I am an undergrad working with a graduate student. I was told to purchase Labview and was given the Newport ESP300 motion controller. I have zero experience with either of these things. I can't get my computer to recognize the controller, let alone Labview to recognize it. I have LabView successfully installed. Can someone give me a step by step explaination of how to install the controller, get it to communitcate with labview, and which VI controls are appropriate to use in the context of motion control? ANY help is appreciated. Thank you!!!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(7,322 Views)

The NI developer zone has a great instrumentation help.  I  recommend reading this link first and taking another stab at the question, so to speak.

instrument control

Specifically the "getting started with instrumentation control" link on that page, great place to start 🙂

-------
Mark Ramsdale
-------
Message 2 of 8
(7,321 Views)

For the LabVIEW help you're in right place as for the controller I think you can access it through RS232(standard serial port) or GPIB. Ours is setup through serial.

The rest of this is only relevant if you're using RS232