LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Function like code block reuse

I am new to Labview and have some questions about code reuse and hope someone can help me. 

I have a Labview program that controls a spectrum analyzer, capture traces from it and saves to a computer.  Inside the program, there is a case that when a user presses the "Get Trace" button, the program will: (1) get the data from the spectrum analyzer; (2) prepare the file header and file name; (3) save the data in a text file; and (4) update the screen display.  What I'd like to do is to reuse this block of codes in other places.  For example, I'd like to add another mode that takes a new trace every 5 seconds, or change some settings and capture a trace with each set of settings.  I am used to programming in other language like C or C++, in which case I just need to make the "GetTrace" a function and call it where I need it.   How can I do that in Labview?  Or can I do that? 

As far as I understand, I can make a subVI, which will take some inputs, work on them and generate some outputs.  That doesn't seem to solve my problem, because I will have to provide a dozen also inputs and another dozen also outputs every time I use the subVI.   Can the subVI get its inputs and generate its outputs on its own, like a C funciton?  Can I pack the inputs and outputs so it works like a standalone module? If so, how?

Anyone willing to help?  Please let me know if you need more detail.  Thanks a lot.

Regards,

Shukui

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(2,971 Views)

Based on your comment and

If I understand you correctly ..

I believe you can get the similar behavior if you set the input and output of your sub VI to Variant.

Then it is up to the code on each "side" of the VI to know what "type" of data is going in to and returning from the it

That would mean some significant thought to the architecture of the data structures (and the external processing code).