LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frequency Measurement using NI 9401

Hi everyone!

I am relatively new to Labview and i want to make a SubVI for frequency measurement using cDAQ9185 with the NI 9401 counter module. Besides frequency measurement, i measure pressure and temperature as well in an extra task, which is working well already (NI 9208 and 9217). For the frequency measurement a turbine-sensor is used which delivers a square signal to the NI 9401 and the frequency measurement already works within the NIMAX, using a new task (using the same tasks for both measurements is not possible). The frequency task works only with the settings shown in the following figure ("Ein Wert auf Anforderung", i dont know the exactly english wording because my installation was done in german, probably this is something like "one value on request")

NImax_mb.png

I have already read a related post, but that didnt help me much. In my opinion there is no task used i this case and just the modules digital counter input is used directly.:

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Measure-frequency-from-flow-turbine-using-NI-9401-error-amp/m-p/324...

My current SubVI for frequency measurement is shown here:

SubVI_Frequ.png

The main program looks like that (red circle is the frequency measurement with following mean value calculation). The parallel measurement with task1 works perfectly:Main_program.png

So the main questions are the following:

1) The CreateChannel-VI needs a counter input but doesnt need the task, it is optional. So do i have to use something else than CreateChannel-VI or do i just add the digital input channel as shown above? I cant run the program for testing because of issues described as follows: