cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For loop parallel computing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

A small question. In Labview, those the for loop do parallel computing if the index isn't used? Exemple, I generate a random number in a for loop of size 100, will it generate the 100 random numbers at the same time or one at the time?

If one at the time, how could I generate a great number of random numbers at the same time?

Thank you. I'm new to labview but I have experience with matlab.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,984 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author RaphaelMT

You can enable parallelism in a FOR loop if you want to execute several iterations in parallel (assuming you have a sufficient number of CPU cores).

Still, just generating random numbers is very fast and probably will not benefit from parallelization, so do some benchmarks.

To generate an array of 100 random numbers, just use the tools in the signal generation palette. No loops needed.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,982 Views)

It was just an example to better understand how labview works so that in the futur, when speed is an issue, I have a better idea of how to program more efficiently.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,973 Views)

LabVIEW code, like C, Matlab, etc., runs "as fast as it can" unless you use one of LabVIEW's most interesting "primitives", the concept of Time.  In your sample code, you put in a "Wait for Notification" and specified 1 second to wait.  Without that, you would have seen your Loop counter running so fast you wouldn't be able to read the numbers.  With the exception of truly parallel threads running on separate cores in a multi-core machine, no digital computer does very much "at the same time" -- it just seems that way because it is so fast (in "human" terms).