From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filtering Touch Screen Data

Good afternoon,

I'm working on a personal project to make a Stewart Platform with a touch screen for tracking a ball position. Its also worth prefacing this with I'm a mechanical engineer at heart, with not much electrical background at all. I'm working hard to brush up my electronics skills (which frankly this project is also about!).

I've got the platform movement etc all sorted, and am now working on the touch screen IO. I'm using a 5 wire touch screen, and am reading back position, however, I'm getting a 'bouncing' issue when the ball moves across the screen (blue = x, red = y, results are un-calibrated, and are based on scale of max voltage to min voltage, which accounts for any voltage reductions as the servos hit my power supply current limit):

Image 1.png

If I press on the ball, then any of the bouncing goes away, if I use a lighter ball, the problem gets worse (I don't have a heavier ball, or else that would be a super obvious solution!). The ball position will be used in the control loop to move the ball, so these abrupt changes will results in some big output errors from the controller.

Things I've tried so far (all failures / lessons):

• Basic filtering (although might have made a hash of it!)
  • Moving averages (total failure, as the number of incorrect samples are so high)
  • Some logic using a super basic differentiation (x(t)-x(t-1)) to tell when a fast change occurs, and use a threshold to latch the last 'valid' value. Half worked, but either my threshold was to high, and it didn't pick up all changes, or to low, and it would latch when it shouldn't.