From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filter Express VI sampling frequency

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a novice in LV. I want to know that is it really necessary to know sampling frequency if we want to use filter for our data? what is sampling frequency in Filter express VI? As it do not asks for a sampling frequency when we use it.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,589 Views)

Do you know the difference between the Analog World and the Digital World?  If I play middle on a properly-tuned Piano, the string will vibrate at 256 Hz (with overtones), and it would be in continuous motion (that is, it wouldn't matter how small a time interval I used, the string position would take on "smoothly-different" positions in that interval.  This is Analog.  If I play a DVD of someone playing middle C on the piano, 44,000 times a second a changing voltage is being sent to a loud-speaker (or headphone) and you hear a very good approximation of a 256Hz waveform.  This is Digital -- time isn't continuous (44K times/second) and neither is the voltage (it can only take on discrete values).

If you want to build an Analog Filter, you take a resistor and a capacitor (and possibly some analog amplifiers) and build a circuit.  If you want to build a Digital Filter, you first sample your waveform (at what is curiously called the "sampling frequency") and then perform some mathematical operation on the digital (meaning "finite precision", often 16-bit) Sample values.  The sampling frequency determines the "granularity" of your filter and its subsequent output representation.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,549 Views)