From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fall Detection with Quaternions

Hello,

I have a wearable device that gives output in Quaternions and I have the four values from q0 to q3. My task is to develop a threshold based fall detection system based on these values. I am totally new in working with this. 

Could someone guide as to where I should start. Do I need to convert Quats to Euler angles for this? FYI I don't have access to Accelerometer values.

Any help is appreciable

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,367 Views)

Hi GoKu,

do you have typical values for "not falling" and "falling" conditions?

Is there any data pattern you can recognize?

Is there a datasheet dexcribing your sensor data?

Please provide more information to get answers, that will push you in the right direction!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,335 Views)

Just thinking about the problem as a physiologist, it would seem to me that rotations about the Z axis would be "benign" (though you might get dizzy), while rotations about the X or Y axes (or combinations thereof) would tend to bring the center of gravity away from the point of support, destabilizing the subject.

While quaternions are certainly one way to represent such rotations, I would think that expressing the motion using rotation vectors would make more intuitive sense.  I don't know of data on the subject (but it wouldn't surprise me if such data were present), but any rotation velocity vector that has a significant deviation from the Z axis could signal a pending fall ...

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,320 Views)

Hi GerdW,