From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA Project Error Message: Write Method in an Unsupported Clock Domain

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to LabVIEW FPGA, and having a lot of trouble with it. Ignoring "ultimate goals" for now, I am currently focusing on just getting some kind of signal to output from my NI PXIe-7972 FPGA + NI PXIe-5783 adapter module. Any signal. If it outputted a wave in the shape of a middle finger on my oscilloscope, I'd be overjoyed because at least it would be something.

I have attached a screenshot showing all of my windows (project, block diagram, interface, and error window). I used a built-in example from the path /program files/National Instruments/LabVIEW 2015/examples/R Series/Basic IO/Analog Output. I created a new FPGA target for the PXIe-7672, added the 200 MHz clock needed to eliminate the red exclamation mark next to the IO Module in the Project, and transferred the example VI to the new target. (I have also tried this by making a completely new project and copying a clean copy of the VI into it). In the block diagram, I changed the example connectors to be (what I believe are) the outputs on my PXIe-5783 adapter module.

Everything seems fine from my limited-knowledge view. But when I try to compile / run the VI for the first time, I get the same error, seen in the top left corner of the screenshot, of the form "The <method> <IOType> for <IOResource> is used in a clock domain that does not support it. The supported clock domain is <RequiredClockDomain>".