cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FFT of recorded waveforms

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I am pretty new to LabView and data aquisition. Sorry to bother you all. I have a question:

"I have recorded a distorted waveform using digital oscilloscope. The format of the file is .bmp i.e. Paintbrush picture. I want to perform the FFT analysis of this waveform. How can I do it in Labview????? I already have the magnitude spectrum using the FFT mode of the oscilloscope, but I need to get the phase spectrum as well so that I get the phase angle for each of the harmonics. Could you be very kind to guide me in this regards????"

Thanking in anticipation.

Best regards,

Haroon
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 31
(4,517 Views)
You will have to record the waveform in some other data type. I don't think it's possible to do anything at all with an image of it.
Message 2 of 31
(4,511 Views)
yeah I suppose you could analyze the .bmp image to try to estimate numbers but it'd take waay more time than it's worth and probably wouldn't be that accurate.  See if you can get your oscilloscope to give you actual numbers.
Message 3 of 31
(4,506 Views)

Thank you very much for the reply. What other formats would you suggest me???

The only resources that I have to get the waveforms are Tektronix Oscilloscope, Current Probes, Labview, USB-6259 DAQ device and a computer. I want to record and analyze the waveforms for various electrical appliances e.g. iron, computers etc. I think USB-6259 cannot be used with such kind loads which may draw current around 10-12 amps at full load.

your guidance in this regard will be very helpful for me.

cheers

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 31
(4,505 Views)