LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error Saving Image in Loop

Hey everyone,

So I'm an undergraduate research assistant trying to get a VI to work and spit out an image every time it is looped. The VI I'm working on is supposed to be a part of a sequence that captures a photo of a sample at set intervals. Everything is working fine except for this photo taking part that I have as a subVI.

The VI works fine when it is run once, and it saves a file perfectly. However, when it is looped, it seems incapable of spitting out the second file (both when the whole vi is looped and when it is placed in a while loop). I've been tinkering with making it generate new file names for each photo but all amount to nothing, and I just keep getting Error Code 3 when the file save part is disabled, and Error Code 3 and Error 1172 occurred at Invoke Node Error calling method uc480.Image.Save, (System.ArgumentNullException: Key cannot be null.
Parameter name: key) when the file save structure is enabled.

I'd appreciate any help I can get.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,108 Views)

Hey badr.jpg,

I'd suggest as a starting point that you do the following:

• Move the initialization code outside of the loop (Set Pixel Format, open references, etc)
  • Move the cleanup code to after the loop (I suspect this is your problem, but we'll see - the Close References should be after the loop)
  • Use Shift Registers to store the references between iterations.
  • Track where your error occurs (connect error wires, use Execution Highlighting or Error probes)
  • Ensure that the references into your nodes are connected when needed (perhaps including the "Image Format" node in the Diagram Disable Structure)