LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Empty Array Given by SubVI (potential race condition)

Solved!
Go to solution

I am an amateur programmer in LabView and have been attempting to adjust the design philosophies I've learned in Object Oriented programming to fit the data flow model and philosophies of LabView. 

That being said, this problem could boil down simply to a misunderstanding of that philosophy and/or a mistakenly implemented form of that concept. Here is the problem at its core: When I run a subVI in my main.vi program it outputs an Empty Array. However when I step in and view each step individually, including into the subVI, the problem doesn't exist (hence my suspicion that I've unintentionally set up a race condition).

In my main VI I have a sub vi that has data flowing in, the snippet is that VI up close. I can't share the entire main vi for job related development reasons but hopefully my sharing of the subVIs will be enough. 

SubVI.PNG

You'll be able to see the data types and objects I'm passing through and passing out of each VI. The sub-sub-VI 7.2_cycle1_Test.vi is intended to send a voltage out to a regulator, read in pressure from an inlet pressure gauge, compare that pressure to a constant set of parameters and end the loop upon success. Failure is monitored by whether or not this loop completes within 6 seconds using the Time Elapsed module. If 6 seconds have passed and the pressure in has still not met the requirements, the loop is ended, the boolean value in the array corresponding to this particular index is set to False, and everything moves on.