LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Edge Detection Toggle State Machine

Hello,

I have a larger design (not my own) that I'm attempting to modify. I am VERY new to Labview. I needed something that would toggle back and forth on a false to positive edge.

I used some edge detection logic that I've seen suggested in some other posts to try and do that inside a case statement that used what I think is a local variable.

Logically, it seems simple enough, but it also seems that at times either it does NOT toggle, or perhaps it toggles 2x (the result being the same). The input is from "inside" the larger project, so in a hardware sense, it would not seem to be asynchronous (to everything else in the project, so to speak) at least to me.

However, I will admit to NOT understanding race conditions in Labview, and maybe that is the issue here.

I've given up trying to use this approach, but I am still trying to use the edge detector for another purpose (being driven by the same signal) and am worried that since I don't understand why this occasionally had a problem, that my use of the edge detector is also doomed to fail on occasion.

Any explanation why this case statement toggle approach seems to fail, especially as it involves edge detection would be GREATLY appreciated.

BTW, I'm doing this (for free - at least right now) for a company that can't afford to update from the 2009 version (maybe they're getting what they're paying for....)

Thanks (just for reading this far).

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(1,345 Views)

Simple solution:

1. Attach your Vi instead of a picture (we cannot run a picture)
  2. Please explain the purpose of all controls. Is the Day/night state where you want to detect when it changes?
  3. What should the final result be? (count number of changes? Flash an LED?
  4. What's the purpose of the D_PP control?