cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Displaying large data sets

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Everyone,

I am having some difficulty with managing and displaying large data sets for post testing review.  Attached is my .vi, it seems that it is getting hung up at the for loop trying to decimate the arrays so I am not trying to display 22k points of data on a 1k wide graph.  I have the decimation algorithim inside of a for loop as I do not know the total number of columns in each file.  Really I do but it changes all of the time from the Engineering department that I would like to make it adjustable/ auto configurable.

Is there something that I am missing when trying to decimate the arrays of data?  I am new at trying to display this many data points with LabView, typically I do this in MatLab but I don't have that ability this time around.

Attached is a sample file that I am trying to read, as well as my .vi.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
~Dan

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,948 Views)

If what you want to do is to take your full array with all the rows and return a "decimated" array of every Nth row, a simple way to do this is with a For Loop with a conditional output tunnel:

Simple Decimation.png

Note that this returns the first, N+1th, 2N+1th, etc. points.  I recommend making this a sub-VI, maybe called "Decimate All Rows" with the inputs and outputs as shown plus, of course, the Error Line in the lower left and lower right corners of the 4-2-2-4 connector pattern ...

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,929 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Tera-Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,916 Views)

Bob,

Essentially this is what I would like to do.  The only difference is that the array that I am looking to decimate is several columns wide and possibly millions of rows long.

Thanks,

~Dan

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,897 Views)