LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Developing for PXIe controller - question

Hello,

I'm new to PXI and I had a question about developing LabVIEW code for a target chassis controller.  Say I purchase a controller with embedded operating system (example, PXIe-8840).  When developing an application on my PC (laptop), what is the normal process to debug module control VIs?  Do I need to compile an EXE and deploy to the controller?  Install LabVIEW development environment on the controller OS and test there in development mode?  Or can I interface with the chassis modules directly from my PC via some TCP link to the chassis controller?

For reference, using LabVIEW 2016 and plan to utilize test and measurement modules (digital I/O, SMU, o-scope, etc.)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,348 Views)

You will generally work from a host computer (i.e. a Windows PC), where you have the LabVIEW development environment installed, along with required modules for your embedded target (LabVIEW Real-Time module, LabVIEW FPGA module, required hardware drivers, etc.).  Your VIs that run on the FPGA and the real-time processor will be developed and deployed to the target hardware from a LabVIEW project on the development computer. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,338 Views)