LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Datastore options: TDMS or Database?

When I need a datastore, the first tool I reach for in any non-trivial case is a database (MySQL, SQL Server, etc).

A colleague recently bid a job specifying that the datastore will be implemented with a TDMS file.  I have never used this technology before so I am unsure whether this is a good choice or bad.

I like databases for the following reasons:

1. They use "standard" SQL language.
  2. The content is fairly open.
  3. I can get the data from multiple locations using a database tool or Excel.
  4. The capacity scales well.
  5. It is moderately easy to write LV code to manipulate the data.
  6. I can post reports to web pages using the data directly.
How does TDMS compare on these points?  Are there any other points that should be mentioned?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(9,081 Views)

Let me respond to each of your concerns.

1. They use "standard" SQL language.

While TDMS files do not support querying with SQL, you can query data sets scattered throughout your computer.  You can store meta-data (properties) with each file/channel/group of channels that can be searched on an entire system.  A product called DataFinder will index your system for this meta-data so that a query can happen really quickly.

2. The content is fairly open.

The TDMS file format is openly documented (the binary layout).  As well, there are plugins for various third party environments (Matlab, OpenOffice, Excel) as well as a generic C DLL for accessing TDMS files from virtually any environment.

3. I can get the data from multiple locations using a database tool or Excel.

Same thing with TDMS.  If you just double-click on a TDMS file in Windows, it will open in Excel.  Leveraging the TDMS API, you could easily build a web service (or even a web page) which will access/query your TDMS files and display them in a UI.

4. The capacity scales well.