From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database Connectivity Toolkit : How do I store RTF( Rich text files) into a database?

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to database concepts. I am developing a simple LabVIEW application that stores the user data inside the MySQL database. I have an activeX container that acts as a Rich Text Box. The RTBox allows user to paste contents into it. I understand that the DB should have a column with the datatype 'varbinary(MAX)' to store the RTF file. But how can I send the contents from the RichTextBox to the database directly?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,856 Views)

I don't think varbinary is necessary.  You should be able to store it as a text string.

Example_VI_BD.png

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,835 Views)

But the text string has a character limit and it might truncate the string after the limit. wouldn't it?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,832 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author OpenAI

I'm not sure what text string you are talking about that has a limit. MSSQL has a varchar(MAX) that used to be limited to 2GB in older versions, higher values in newer versions.  There is also a TEXT and a BLOB column type that overcomes row size limitations.  How big a' file are ya lookin' at?  (For some reason, I just thought of Roy D. Mercer and had to write it that way.)  Smiley Very Happy

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(4,827 Views)