From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data save from loop extremly slow

Hi everyone!

This is a very easy question for hc labviewers:

I hav this .vi attached, but it's very bad written. (I hav no time to write a better one now.)

The problem is that after a while it's becoming extremely slow, I guess becasue it's writing to an .lvm data file in every loop (at the end of the block diagram: picture)

http://s30.postimg.org/ag8dejn9b/image.png

Sadly I'm a beginner  and I don't know how to save data after every 10.000 loop at once (I think a case structure and an array needed), which would reduce my measurements from 3 hours to 10 min, it's like 168.000 data.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,010 Views)

Is the new data appended to the same file or is it saved in a new file?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,990 Views)

To the same file as it's part of the whole time series, but if it's much easier to write to another file than I'm okay with that.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,978 Views)

Writing to disk is a very non-deterministic operation.  You have no way to know how long it takes to write your data no matter how large or small.  You are at the mercy of Windows and you hardware.  If you have a platter style hard drive, it may need a few seconds to spin up.  This is likely not your problem but an example of how you can't control how fast this operation happens.