cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ assistant

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, 

I am a beginner at using LabView. I get a problem regarding data acquisition. How can I set a time limit to collect my data? For example, I want to collect samples for 5s (from 0 to 5s). Because I used continuous sampling which the program will stop only when I click the stop button. And I also set a write to measurement file so I can import them into an excel spreadsheet. When I open the TDMS file of my data, it just got many datasheets. I tried to set a WDT Waveform duration as well to see whether I can set a time limit to collect my data or not but it failed. I know there is a way which is to change the continuous sample to N-sample which I don't prefer. Therefore, Is there any way to set a time limit to log data into my excel spreadsheet using continuous sampling mode? 

Cheers

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,776 Views)

Did you try time elapse function which control timing limits ?

CLA
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,773 Views)

No, because I don't have any idea to connect the elapse time block with the DAQ assistant. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,766 Views)

you can send me the vi let me adjust it for you

CLA
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(1,764 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author hihiSam

Using the Dreaded DAQ Assistant (DDA) will probably hinder your ability to understand and learn LabVIEW.  LabVIEW is not like most other Programming Languages, in that it uses the Principles of Data Flow to control program execution.  Another difference between LabVIEW and most Procedural languages is how the concept of Time is woven into many aspects of LabVIEW, especially where Data Acquisition (and Control) is concerned.

If you are currently taking a LabVIEW class, I hope your instructor has explained how Data Flow works, though I suspect this has not been emphasized because I don't see the Error Line (one of the most important LabVIEW "wires" being used.