LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Current Output Adjustment

This may seem like a trivial question, but please bare with me (I'm still a NI/LabVIEW beginner).  I have a test stand that uses a potentiometer to adjust current going to a set of electronic brake that's attached to a motor shaft.  We're trying to upgrade this stand to have a GUI where anyone can input their desired value of current and that value is supplied to the brakes to apply torque on the motor shaft.  My current hardware consists of a cDAQ-9174 and miscellaneous modules of analog signal recording and digital input/outputs.  Is this something that I can do, relatively easily, with LabVIEW?  Ideally the users could input their desired torque value to be applied on the motor shaft, but I feel like current would be easier to manipulate, at least in terms of programming the GUI and just have the users do the math to convert desired torque to current.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,271 Views)

Hi Brethigh,

I'll start with the end bit and then move to the first bit:

@brethigh wrote:

Ideally the users could input their desired torque value to be applied on the motor shaft, but I feel like current would be easier to manipulate, at least in terms of programming the GUI and just have the users do the math to convert desired torque to current.

If the math is simple for people to do (i.e. you could describe some equation etc) then you'll be definitely able to put it into LabVIEW, probably without significant difficulty.

@brethigh wrote:

I have a test stand that uses a potentiometer to adjust current going to a set of electronic brake that's attached to a motor shaft.  We're trying to upgrade this stand to have a GUI where anyone can input their desired value of current and that value is supplied to the brakes to apply torque on the motor shaft.  My current hardware consists of a cDAQ-9174 and miscellaneous modules of analog signal recording and digital input/outputs.