LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a string of bits to send out through VISA Serial questions, complete noob here...

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi cayenne,

oh praise the wonders of FormatIntoString with some nice choosen format string:

check.png

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 21 of 29
(982 Views)

@johnsold wrote:

cayenne,

I am not sure what you are expecting that you are not getting. The bytes are there. The bits are ordered with the least significant bit on the left. Since 127 has seven 1s the eighth bit is a zero.  It is there because averything is done in 8-bit bytes.

Lynn

Thanks for the reply.

Well, I thought that by using the array subset, starting at 0 and grabbing 8 for the length, that I would have grabbed  TTTFFFFT    at probe 23, from the full boolean array at probe 22 which was TTTFFFFTTTTTTTTFTTTTTTTF....

Thank you,

C

0 Kudos
Message 22 of 29
(968 Views)

Hi cayenne,

Well, I thought that by using the array subset, starting at 0 and grabbing 8 for the length

Index and length of what? You only set inputs for the row section of ArraySubset, so you took an array subset of 8 rows starting at index 0. As you didn't limit the columns (!) you got full rows. It's all as you programmed it to be...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 23 of 29
(949 Views)

@GerdW wrote:

Hi cayenne,

Well, I thought that by using the array subset, starting at 0 and grabbing 8 for the length

Index and length of what? You only set inputs for the row section of ArraySubset, so you took an array subset of 8 rows starting at index 0. As you didn't limit the columns (!) you got full rows. It's all as you programmed it to be...

D'oh!!

Ok, I guess from looking at the results from the probe, they way it is displayed, I was mistakenly thinking 1D array was coming into the array subset...but it  is a 2D array....