LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a string of bits to send out through VISA Serial questions, complete noob here...

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

I'm trying now to scan through the values I have on my GUI clusters, and with those, construct a message to send through VISA.

I have the NI usb-> rs232 cable, and I've attached a connector to it, with pins 2 and 3 tied together so I can loopback and see the messages I'm sending.

I'm supposed to (from the instructions I'm reading on a design doc)  to send out a message 24 bits long.

And please bear with me, I've never worked on this low of a level before, nor with serial interfaces, so I may be completely off on how I"m trying to do it....and this is my

first stint really with LabView for this project.

I have a while loop executing every 20ms.

I have an event structure looking for user actions on my front panel.

I have also within that while loop, a flat sequence structure.....my assumption was, every 20ms, the flat sequence structure would execute, unless interrupted by an event....which would fire off, and then continue with the flat structure...

I saw the VISA write (and read) took a string.

So, I started the flat structure with constructing my outgoing bit/byte string....first section is hard coded, and then, through the next two sequences, it loop through,and based on the values of controls within each cluster, I concatenate to my outgoing string......at which case, I send it through the visa through the loopback, and display it on the message indicator.

It appears, that I can only send out 8 bits at a time through VISA...so, I'm trying to figure out (and I'm asking the people with the req about this part) why they said to send out such a long string....or, am I supposed to send out each 8 bit message, one at a time?