LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Counting a stack of card.

Hii all,

Greetings of the day!!!

I have a stack of cards and I want to count it using my basler camera. I'm new in the  field of vision inspection system. Any  suggestions in this field would be helpful for me.

regards

Suraj

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,047 Views)

A stack of cards has 52 cards+ 2 Jokers. No need for Vision!

Just kidding. Sounds like fun.

What are the conditions? Can you pick the background? The lightning? The scaling\distance? Should it work for any deck of cards or just one? Is this BW or color? Should it work for the fronts, the backs or both (or mixed)? Can the cards overlap (that could make it near impossible to detect)?

You'd probably want some contour detecting, and then some analyzing of these contours. Of course after proper conditioning of the image, probably at least (local) thresholding. It's a lot like marker detecting in OpenCV.

If you have images, posting them might help.

Message 2 of 15
(3,027 Views)

Thanks for answer, however these are company visiting cards, not playing cards and they are some 500 in numbers. I want to count them using Basler camera. 

Any help in this matter will be helpful. I have attached the image in the message.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(2,954 Views)

I would require immediate help in this matter. Kindly find any options for the same.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(2,948 Views)

Hello Suraj

The image you attached doesn't seem realistic (not taken in Basler Camera). Basic solution could be to place the camera to view the stack side on. Measure the length of the stack and based on the thickness of the card (measure it- GSM of the card could help), we can get the total number of cards.

-Rahul

Hit KUDOS for Thanks

Message 5 of 15
(2,935 Views)

The thing is, this might not be feasible.

Vision is tricky, and often needs a lot of creativity.