LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Count Up/Down timer

Hi, 

I'm new to labview and i would greatly appreciate any help that can be given. 

Basically, i'm trying to create a countdown/countup timer using elapsed timer vi. However, after using shift registers to store my previous data, i came to realized that my output of the timer isnt the exact speed of 0.05s per iteration and that affects my overall data. I have a feeling is the wrong usage of shift registers but i'm not sure what or how to fix this. Any help please? 

Lost student,

Jarrold 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,744 Views)

As a new programmer, you are making some beginner mistakes.

• Your second true and false cases seems identical except for the indicators. All shared code belongs outside the case.
  • Your first case structure only needs a single output tunnel.
  • Your overuse of local variables blurs the distinction between control and indicator functionality. For example, why is "timetorun 2" an indicator?
  • Why are the radiobutton terminals not connected to the code? (no need for local variables)
  • Inserting a TRUE into a boolean array with 6 elements using an enum with 15 possible states makes no sense. Can you explain?
  • Converting an array to a cluster with 3 elements just to index out the second and third element is not how it's done.
  • Why are the two "array of boolean" controls? Is the user supposed to operate them during the run? Why?
  • "OR FALSE" just returns the other input unchanged. Same function as a plain wire.
  • There seems to be some state variable enums, but not used in a reasonable way.
  • In what sense does the iteration duration affect your overall data? 
  • Please explain how the VI is supposed to be operated and what behavior you expect based on control changes.
  • Adding or subtracting the value of "elapsed time" seems incorrect.
  • Why are your controls scattered so far apart on the front panel?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6