LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Converting a numeric 2D array to binary

Solved!
Go to solution

I have a 2D numeric array as the output of 'Array subset' function. I need to convert the elements of each cell in this array into their binary equivalent and display them on the front panel. I am a beginner of Labview. Any  help on this is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,581 Views)

Please explain what you mean by "binary equivalent".

What is the datatype of the array? If it is an integer (blue), all you might need is set the display format of a plain numeric array indicator to binary.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,576 Views)

The array is a DBL array. I have attached a word document with my block diagram. The image below the block diagram is the output indicator on the front panel.

You can see that the output is Subnet Mask 255 255 0 0. I want to convert 255 to its binary equivalent ie. 11111111. This I need to do for the subsequent elements in the array and output the result on the front panel.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,568 Views)

Your array is blue, thus definitely not DBL, only your indicator is DBL and thus mismatched. Also you "mask bits" control should be integer, you cannot have fractional masks. (right-click...representation).

I assume that that array is actually U8. Take the four element U8 array and typecast it to U32, then display it as %032b.

It would be much easier if you could attach your VI containing typical data instead of a word document with a picture. A picture never tells the full story.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(3,564 Views)