LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Conversion of 16 bit unsigned to 32 bit float

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, i am new to labview and the data types in electronics. Due to a shortage of manpower in my company, i am required to do this myself. I've gone through several basic labview tutorials and examples but i am unable to do what i want correctly with labview. Any help is much appreciated.

I am using labview 8.6.1 and i've downloaded the modbus drivers. Currently, i am required to read data off a sensor and write the data into a file. Using the "MB Serial Master Query Read Input Registers (poly).vi", i am able to read the data in the registers. However, the data in the registers are 16 bit unsigned and does not give the "real"values. I am not sure about this, but i've tried using Simply Modbus 6.3.6 and changing the 16 bit unsigned type to 32 bit float does the job of showing the actual value.

So, my question is, how do i obtain the real values out of the VI ? I apologize if this is a simple question but i am new to this and do not have the time to study more about it. Also, i apologize in advance if insufficient information is given. Attached is the modified VI from "MB Serial Master Query Read Input Registers (poly).vi" which i used to write data to file, as well as 1 of the text files i obtained.

Thank you for your help and sorry for any trouble.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(11,724 Views)
Using the vi above, how do i read 32-bit registers?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(11,678 Views)

It is not very clear looking at your VI because I don't have the subVI.

Can you show a real data example of what you get and what you think you should get.

(Maybe you need to typecast the U16 array to an SGL array but it is not entirely clear from your question.)

Message Edited by altenbach on 05-31-2010 09:34 PM
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(11,667 Views)

Hi JR,