From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling execution order of init/release

Solved!
Go to solution

I have a small program I am writing in LabView.  It is exercising an API (a set of VIs wrapping the DLL functions to control a device). 

The other such programs in our shop make liberal use of sequence structures.  I understand that sequence structures in LabVIEW are not usually recommended.  I am trying to write my program with better LabVIEW style (as much as I understand -- I am still a relative novice in LabVIEW).

I found that I could wire together the error in/error out terminals to create a data flow to control the order of execution, and it works beautifully.

However, there are a few cases where this is not sufficient.

Here is one example.  Hopefully the answer to this will answer my other questions.  If not, maybe I'll post more.

One of the first VIs I call is an Init function.  One of the last VIs is the Release function. 

The Release function must be called at the end, after the rest of the program has completed execution (in this case, that is after the user requests stop).  So it should naturally be at the end (or almost end) of the chain of error in / error out connections (as it is currently).

However, the error in that it receives, which will determine whether or not it should execute, should be the output of the Init.  Release should run even if something else failed.

I have enclosed a picture demonstrating the problem, with most of the code snipped out (as exactly what happens in the middle is irrelevant).