LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Continuous data log and plot curve

Hi, I'm new to Labview and currently in the learning process.

I have a load cell (LC105-500) and an A/D converter (D1521), both purchased from Omega.com. This allowed me to connect straight to the computer via RS232 and then from RS232 through USB. I did get Labview talking with the loadcell using the sample programs within Labview (basic read/write).

What we will be doing with the load cell is measuring the tension in a v-ribbed rubber belt on a rotating steel pulley. One end of the rubber belt will be attached to the load cell and the other end will have a dead weight. The load cell will be fixed to the wall. When the pulley is rotated, it will create tension in the belt. Basically, we're investigating the friction between rubber and steel and in order to do that we need the tension force on the belt. See picture below:

Ultimately, I'm asking for a simple .vi diagram (I think that's what you call it) that will datalog continuously for a short period of time (maybe 10 seconds), as well as a plot curve if possible. Again I'm only a beginner with Labview, any kind of information will be helpful.

Thanks in advanced.

P.S. This is the plot curve we're expecting after the test:

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,109 Views)

It depends on how fast is the sampling rate. If it is not so fast (<100 samples/second), then maybe you can use a polling acquisition in a timed loop. Buffering the data in an array and save it after done.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(3,100 Views)

Hi won_chulupa,