LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communication Between LabVIEW on Mac and Arduino Uno - USB ports labelled ASRL?::INSTR ?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I've just installed LabVIEW Interface for Arduino and I'm trying to get a simple blinking LED to work, but the connection between my Mac Pro and the Arduino Uno board isn't happening. I'm pretty new to LabVIEW so I may be missing something obvious, but I followed a tutorial so I think I did the right things.

There's a VISA Resource which has control of my Mac's ports, and its pop-up menu gives me a list of 5 ports labelled ASRL1::INSTR  to  ASRL5::INSTR. So far as I know, Macs don't have labelled ports the way PCs do (COM ports). My Mac Pro has a lot more than 5 USB ports anyway. I've tried each port setting from 1 to 5 a couple of times with the Arduino Uno board plugged into a USB port as usual, with no luck.

The Arduino communicates fine with my Mac over USB when I'm running the Arduino IDE, which I've been using for about a year, but I'm not familiar enough with LabVIEW to know what to try next. The Help docs don't have anything under ASRL at all, and Wikipedia and Google don't have anything very relevant either.

I'm running an up-to-date copy of LabVIEW 2013 on Mac OS X 10.9.1 Mavericks on a 2009 'Nehalem' Mac Pro. It's an evaluation copy which I've only recently downloaded so I could decide if LabVIEW for NXT (robot programming) was going to work for me or not. Despite being an evaluation copy, it doesn't appear to be crippled in any way (it just has the words 'EVALUATION COPY' printed all over the windows), so I don't think that's the problem (I can program my NXT brick just fine with it through USB).

If I can get it working for Arduino as well as NXT, that'll be twice the reason to go with it as a replacement for Arduino IDE and EV3 Home Edition.

[EDIT]