From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicating with Zebra printer

I have been using the attached vi for several years without any problems on windows XP computers but it no longer functions on the windows 7 computers that I have tried to use it on with 'printer not found' message.

The printer is ZTC LP2844-Z 200dpi which is set up in windows as default printer, so in the vi the printer is not specified. This arrangement worked for XP but although in Windows 7 I can print out using the printer 'test' function it does not work in Labview.

I have read other posts and solutions using the Zebra progarm code but the application I am using just uses text files hence use of report generator so would have thought it would function as a basic printer?

Labview Version 8.5
Labview Version 8.6
Labview Version 2014
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,003 Views)

Unfortunately Zebra lists the Service & Support Discontinuation Date for the LP2844-Z as September 2, 2014. This might mean that they would refuse to help with this query but  I would try it anyway since they are likely to be able to help.

Do you know which version of the Zebra driver you are using and if it supports Windows 7? Learning this will likely lead you to a fix by setting your computer up with the right drivers.

If you know what commands the printer expects from your computer, how it is supposed to be connected and what communication protocol it uses then you will be able to generate those commands from LabVIEW and send them to your printer.

Has this ever worked on a Windows 7 computer?

Are you sure your printer and its driver support this version of Windows?