LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicating Between RS232 and LabVIEW

Hi, all.

I'm new to using LabVIEW, and I'd like help finding examples, or some guidance, if someone has the time.

I'm using an industrial device with a RS232 output.  I've viewed the basic and advanced examples for serial communication, but I have further questions and haven't even started attempting to program in LabVIEW.

The initial idea is to have the RS232 output connected to the computer, then WinWedge (like HyperTerminal), and have that signal be both plotted in real time AND recorded in an Excel like datasheet.

Do I have to use WinWedge in between, or can LabVIEW just read incoming serial data?  Also, are there programs out there that have such a function done that I can edit (with proper credit given)?

Thanks for the help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,526 Views)

LabVIEW can do all of the communication and saving of data. 

There are thousands and thousands of existing instrument drivers. You have not mentioned the vendor or model number of the device so the search for similar drivers or one that match your instrument will have to be up to you. On that page you will also find information on how to use an instrument driver or how to create your own.

Message 2 of 10
(3,516 Views)

Thanks for the response.

Alright, so I can cut out the WinWedge part, and go from the device to LabVIEW.  Good to know.

I searched for drives, but no luck.  I'm using a Thornton 770MAX, which monitors several things.  Would I still be able to interface with this?  What would be the steps that I need to take, to properly get this functioning?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,510 Views)